99 problems but Wall Street aint one

The two articles that I chose for discussion were the Judy Lubin article on the “Occupy” movement as well as the article by Kallio Kirsi Pauliina and Häkli Jouni regarding “voiceless politics”.

The beginning of the “Occupy” article did what I believe was a good job laying out the basics of who the protestors were in the majority of these protests.  College students, unemployed workers, and people who felt that they were somehow slighted in the growth of major corporations.  I think it interesting to point out the issue in Wisconsin a few years back.  During that election and the soon to follow protests my aunt was a teaching in an affluent area just north of Milwaukee.  My aunt never went to protest for the fear of loosing her job, however I had the opportunity to go and see the protests as they were happening during a visit to my aunt’s home.  We have been discussing space and the impact of space and place on urban politics and let me tell you, I have never seen more frustrated and angry people in my life.  Trash was everywhere, tents were placed on the front lawn of the capital, and all the while people yelling and cursing the Governor of the State Scott Walker.  As a result of the cut backs my aunt lose the right of collective barganing an took a substantial pay cut the following year.

The occupy movement was an attempt for regular hard working Americans to stand up as one and declare “We’re not going to take it”.  The growth of greed and power in this country over time as see the rise of cities which our author spends a great deal of time on.  The city is a symbol of power.  Within the jungle and amongst the skyscrapers of cities; we have created cities from the ground up as places of buisness, finance, and social reform.  This is why the protestors and the occupy movement was the strongest in the urban jungle of New York City.  New York as a city is a symbol of power and in the eyes of the protestors it was a sign of corruption and greed.  The movement was born of the city and the city in the end shut the movement down.

These ideas of protest and the right to gather tie in well the the Kiikeli Park article where the city placed a barrier disallowing people to enter the park after certain hours.  I love how this article points out that the youth affected by this were not not practicing politics, but they were engaging in something more that politics.  This beginning part of the article for me described how I view politics.  I am not one to voice an opinion or fight the system, I am just doing my own thing the same as the youth in the article.  They knew the rule yet did not voice an opinion.  It wasn’t because they didn’t care, but it just wasn’t there place to speak up against the issue.

To me voiceless politics is just as simple as understanding an issue, making an inference on it, and acting in a way you see fit.  Not everyone need to debate or argue an issue.  Some politics especially politics of the city feature changes in rules and regulation that many people simply do not speak up about.  I don’t agree with the current change in the healthcare system but that doesn’t mean I am going to run for president to change it.  The voice of the voiceless is stronger than the voice of those who have a voice.

This entry was posted in Urban II and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

